* · Articles

My ‘Semester Abroad’

I have decided to post 108 words about each day of my trip to France. Here’s how it all started:

Two weeks ago, I went to translate for Khenchen Pema Sherab Rinpoche in Bangalore. His original translator had fallen ill. The next day I joked to the translator: “Don’t worry if you are too sick to go to Europe, I’ll go in your place and you can stay here and write my exams.” Not catching the end bit of that sentence, he replied, “That’s a good idea!” I spent the next two weeks getting ready. I got permission to miss classes but still be allowed to write our final exams. Due to visa issues we weren’t sure the trip would happen, but it came together in the end.

Leave a Reply

