* · Articles

Two months in Nepal

India seems to think it is a good idea for long term tourists to scram every six months, for at least two months.  So off I went to Nepal

I spent a day in Boudhanath.

Then I headed up to Pharphing, which Tibetan Buddhists know as Yanglesho.  I stayed the Nyingma Palyul Retreat Center which has a great guest houseNamdroling’s own Khenchen Namdrol Rinpoche oversees the retreat center and has many wonderful projects on the go, please visit his website and have a look!  In particular, there is an English translation of his own commentary to Words of My Perfect Teacher.

While in Yanglesho, I studied Yontan Dzod, the text which I was missing while being away from shedra.    In the second month of my stay, I had a wonderful surprise:

Yangthang Rinpoche arrived in Yanglesho.  I had no idea Rinpoche would be visiting the region, let alone staying there for several weeks.  Needless to say, it brought me great joy to meet with Rinpoche and receive his blessings.  There is a fascinating interview with Gyaltrul Rinpoche about Yangthang Rinpoche on the Snow Lion Publications website.

All in all, I had a good time in Nepal.  I spent a bit too much time worrying about whether or not I’d be able to write my exams, but luckily the very fine examples of Khenchen Namdrol and Yangthang Rinpoche inspired me to take a broader view.


Leave a Reply

